Jacob & the Jackals: "South From Memphis" (Sverige 2007)

Tillbaka till artistens sida

1. South From Memphis
2. Caught In A Trap
3. Lover’s Lane
4. Be My Queen
5. Everyting I Do
6. Vicksburg Blues
7. The Jackal Boogie
8. Pickin’ Up The Pieces
9. Put Your Spell On Someone Else
10. If You See My Rider
11. Bayou Side
All songs written by Jacob Steinwall

SEK 99:-
tidigare SEK 139:-

En mästerlig och varierad liten platta där framför allt det vokala har utvecklats ett snäpp till. Lyssna och njut av Jacob sjungandes sin 'söder om Memphis'-soul i egna låten "Pickin' Up The Pieces". Ja, alla låtarna här är eget material för den delen, stor guldstjärna för det. "Pickin' Up The Pieces" dekoreras, liksom ett par andra spår, av elegant saxofon- och trumpetspel från Tore Berglund resp. Karl Olandersson: två gentlemen bl.a. hörda med Knockis och Svenne Zetterberg. Ytterligare ett par färger på paletten. Varierat som sagt.

"Well, that’s an out and out lie! Unless every atlas in the world is wrong, and Sweden has somehow managed to relocate itself several thousand miles south and west of it’s current location. It’s album number three from the Jackals, following on their "Workin’ Class" album in 2003 and their eponymous second CD in 2005, and it’s an absolute treat!" -Stuart A Hamilton, Blues Matters!
"I don’t often, if ever, give a 6-Bottle review to European bands but Jacob & The Jackals sure sound like they’ve been on the Bayou for decades. 6 Bottles of Hadacol for a Real Treat from Sweden by way of Crowley, Louisiana. It’ll put pizzazz in your hip shake and lead-in-your-pencil.." -Andy Grigg, Real Blues Magazine