The Unkool Hillbillies: "Pause 'n' Rewind" (Sweden 2011)
PRIVATE ISSUE/ UNKOOL201101 Tracks Price

Back to the artist's page
1) Ding Ring-a-ding Ding
2) Hangover
3) Spend Some Time With Me
4) Bad Investment Blues
5) Pause'n'rewind
6) Window View
7) Send Me Some Loving
8) Call Me Up
9) Rauchan
10) Everlasting Love Blues
11) Watch My Signals
12) Hillbilly Twist
13) Gone Gone Gone
14) Blisters
15) One More Time (Live)
SEK 139.00

Digipack. 16 page booklet. 42 minutes playing time. 15 songs.

Pause’n’Rewind [from the band's website]:

Rock’n’roll is what The Unkool Hillbillies are known of and this CD has plenty of it. Along with the rock’n’roll songs in the unkool style there are more actual rock-a-billy numbers like Ding-Ring-A-Ding-Ding, swing-inspired rock’n’roll like Spend Some Time, blues (Bad Investment Blues), surf-inspired (Hillbilly Twist) and even country-flavored tracks (Window View and Everlasting Love). The variety is somewhat impressive, but even more impressive is that The Unkool Hillbillies dig into each style as The Unkool Hillbillies!

Anders has written most of the CD’s 15 tracks. The title track Pause’n’Rewind is a good illustration of the context that fits most of the songs on this CD. The CD is all about rock’n’roll and swinging music, but nevertheless many of the songs also has story to tell. In Window View, for example, Karin sings a story about staying inside and looking at the world through the window instead of going outside, which can be seen as a metaphor for a contemporarily spread lifestyle of today – there’s no condemnation involved though, instead the songs together form comforting message. And overall, the partly melancholic or reflective lyrics give some further nuances to the music, but the main message is still: rock’n’roll!

Along with the new originals, there are also the “unkoolified” songs. Richard Andersson has invented the verb unkoolify: “There are these classics that you have heard countless of times without rally reflecting upon them, and there are these classics that seem to talk to you, the kind of songs that you would like to speak back to. If you’re able to scratch out the identity, the soul, of the an existing song and you from that are able to shape your own version, add a new angle and re-interpret it your own way – to make it sound like a song of The Unkool Hillbillies - that is to unkoolify”. Little Richard (Send Me Some Loving) and Carl Perkins (Gone Gone Gone) are two unkoolified contributions on this CD.

Hillbillies gone surfin’

The Unkool Hillbillies is a rock’n’roll band, al though jive, swing, blues and especially rockabilly are parts of the overall picture – but on this CD is the first time they record a couple of surf oriented songs. Rauchan is named after a fairy princess from Kazakhstan and has a character of its own. It has a distinguished melody, but there is room for several associations. And the beat is something else – it is not 3/4 beat and neither 2/4 nor 4/4 – it is an “odd” rhythm. Anders explains: “If an even rhythm is like perfect circle-shaped wheel, an odd rhythm can be seen like an elliptic-shaped wheel: more difficult to get it rolling, but the more to watch!”

Robert Karlsson is a terrific Swedish rockabilly guitarist, who’s played with the band on many shows, but here on the first time joins them on CD. Robert delivers brilliant guitar work and also gave an ingenious name to the other surf-oriented song: Hillbilly Twist. “On this CD, we have been fortunate to gather most of the great guest musicians that we work with from time to time”, says Richard, “and except for Robert and Karin, the incredible saxophone playing of the Otto Gryting is remarkable”. Remarkable is also a word that’s valid for The Unkool Hillbillies. This new CD should be a must for any rockabilly or 50’s oriented person.