Cheatin' Hearts: "Cheatin' Hearts" (Sweden 2005)

Back to the artist's page
1. I Don´t Believe You Met My Baby
2. Queen Of Denial
3. It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels
4. I´m Barely Hangin´ On To Me
5. Show Me
6. Other Side Of You
7. (It´s A Mighty Thin Line) Between Love And Hate
8. Steelwalk
9. Darlin´ Are You Ever Coming Home
10. Above And Beyond
11. I Still Miss Someone
now SEK 84.00
previously SEK 139.00

"Swedish country supergroup revisit Nashville's past. Grouped around singer Marina Uppgren who has won several awards in Sweden (with members from the Clayfoot Stompers and Jake and the Spitfires), Cheatin' Hearts play straight forward covers for the most part. "It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels" and "Still Miss Someone" are among the best known with Uppgren's vocals betraying no evidence of her origins. There are three originals, two by Uppgren in a Loretta Lynn vein and one by pedal steel player, Peter Andersson, a showcase for his playing. Overall it's a pleasant listen but breaks no new ground. Best track is a version of Johnny Paycheck's "(It's A Mighty Thin Line) Between Love and Hate" where Uppgren shows her mastery of that vocal style so beloved by wronged women in Nashville."
- Americana UK