The Remedies: "Unfiltered" (Sweden 1999)
GOOD MUSIC / RUN 1999 Tracks Price

Back to the artist's page
1) Wind Turns
2) End Of The Day
3) Broken Record
4) Where Have You Been
5) Give Me Shelter
6) Here I Am
7) New Face
8) Drums Of War
9) Last Line Of Defence
10) Southern Queen
11) Reunion Night
12) Temor Maldición
13) I Will
14) You Win
SEK 79.00
previously SEK 99.00

The cover photograph, carefully tinted in reddish brown and depicting an old and derelict gas station, puts you instantly in the right mood. This is solid Americana: not the plastic naugahyde variety but the dusty and windswept one. And the music follows it up faultlessly, no worry.

This is American music - although created by a band from Göteborg, Sweden. A CD which brings back memories of records, concerts, journeys, parties - of food & beer, even. I guess every listener who is into this sort of stuff can hear traces of his or her own fave artists in there somewhere. To my own ears it rings of Jackson Browne, Tom Petty, the E-Street Band, California acid country, The Eagles - and of the current darling label ''. A warm, rounded world of strong melodies, slide guitars and mandolins, harmonizing vocals - or lonesome ones, of ringing chords and plaintive harmonicas.

It's difficult to pick out favourite tunes from this menu, but I'll have to mention "I Will": a stark southern soul number with blue guitar and unison vocals, and "Drums Of War", opening up with piano and a lone voice and following through after a change of tempo with the full band, charging ahead with a strident slide guitar at the front.

There are slide guitars swooping all over the place, in fact, but no overplaying. It seems as if Olle Schelander and Martin Johansson, sharing lead & rhythm guitar duties, were born with a bottle neck stuck on their fingers. No doubt a handicap then, but a reason for joy to listeners today! Laying down the stable foundation are Anders Olausson on bass and Eric Olausson on drums. Two good reasons for putting on your dancin' shoes.

There are fourteen original songs on this CD, a strong yet varied collection:
"End Of The Day": a New Orleans or cajun rocker with Bernt Andersson guesting on accordion
"Broken Record": a stroll down the E Street with nicely strained vocals and that wheezing slide
"Give Me Shelter": a bit of a country rocker with Olle or Martin doing the Albert Lee part
"Here I Am": an acoustic beauty
and many more. Enjoy!